That Difficult First Phone Call to Fernando Torres (Since He Left)

Hello, Fernando? Yeah, it’s me. How are you? I’m fine. Hey, look I just wanted to get in touch, because I know that the last time we saw it each other it was, er, well, a bit awkward. Right? So, I just wanted to kind of clear the air; maybe get some things off my chest? Well, actually I think it would help us both. My therapist thinks it will help me, at least.

Not to be too blunt or anything, but let me just start by saying you pissed me off. Get it out there. It was a terrible, hurtful thing you did and I’m just being honest and putting it out there honestly. I’m a little melodramatic? Well, you might be right, ‘Nando. I admit, I put a lot of faith in you. I spent most of the summer telling everyone it was just a phase you were going through. I wasn’t judging, we’ve had our ups and downs before and I just put it down to you being tired and a bit cranky, but I really thought we’d put all that behind us when the season started. Then after a while, I just didn’t feel your heart was in it. It looked like you’d given up.

You’re right, that’s probably not fair; coming back from injury isn’t easy. There was a lot of pressure and expectation on you. Look, I think I knew something was wrong, but I didn’t know how to fix it, so I didn’t ask. That’s on me; but I just wish you could have said something, let someone know how you felt, even if you couldn’t come to me. It wasn’t a perfect situation, I’ll grant you that, but you knew it would be like that going in.

But when you just upped and left, it was a shock. You say it was six months too late, but I think it was six too early. I’ll admit I said some pretty mean things about you, El Niño. You were probably thinking some unflattering things back, right? In fact, I heard you made a couple of digs, ‘big club’ and all that? I agree the shirt burning was out of order. Don’t worry, they’re not real fans.

It’s taken some time but I think I’ve moved past it all now and I genuinely wanted to check in with you and make sure you are doing okay. I realize I’ve been kind of stand-offish, a bit selfish, I suppose. I just needed a bit of time and space. But things are starting to settle down around here, there’s a couple of new lads knocking aroun- what? No, they’ll never replace you! It’s just different is all. And you – are you happy? Making friends? I hope you didn’t forget anything in the move (like you’re striking boots!! Oh c’mon I’m just joking!).

Seriously though, life’s too short, I hope bygones can be bygones. I can’t promise you’re going to get a big welcome back when you return, but I’ll do my best to remember the good times and give you a clap.

Look Fernando, I’ve got to go, I’m heading out with Andy – he suggested a bit of a pub crawl round town. So anyway, take care, all the best and hope you score a hat-trick on Sunday.

One response to “That Difficult First Phone Call to Fernando Torres (Since He Left)

  1. Unfortunately he managed not a lot and two London teams have both whimpered in the face of the challenge. Still, there’s always 5th place

Leave a Reply

